Alicia Cascallar Award

The Alicia Cascallar Award for an Outstanding Paper by an Early Career Scholar has been established to honor Alicia’s professional commitment and accomplishments and to continue her practice of mentoring and encouraging promising new scholars in the area of educational measurement. The award will be given to an early career scholar for an outstanding paper presented at one of the three most recent NCME annual meetings. A cash award of $1,000, a commemorative plaque, and a waiver of NCME conference fees will be provided as partial support for an early career member of NCME to travel to the 2022 annual meeting. The award will be presented at the Awards Breakfast at the NCME Annual Meeting in 2022.

Past Recipients

  • 2005 Sandip Sinharay
  • 2006 Tim Moses
  • 2007 Christina Wikstrom
  • 2008 Jianbin Fu
  • 2009 Deping Li, Chien-Ming Cheng, and Yanlin Jiang
  • 2010 Longjuan Liang
  • 2011 No Recipien
  • 2012 Kyung T. Han
  • 2013 Chun Wang
  • 2014 Yoon Soo Park
  • 2015 Peter Baldwin
  • 2016 Okan Bulut
  • 2017 Qiwei He
  • 2018 Stefanie Wind
  • 2019 Scott Monroe
  • 2020 Edison Choe
  • 2021 Carol Eckerly
  • 2022 Susu Zhang

Committee Members

This committee is responsible for all steps associated with the selection and recognition of the recipient of the Alicia Cascallar Award for An Outstanding Paper by an Early Career Scholar.

  • Eduardo Cascallar, Permanent Member
  • Cengiz Zopluoglu, Chair
  • Oscar Astivia, Member
  • Amy Clark, Member
  • Qi Diao, Member
  • Minju Hong, Member
  • Wenchao Ma, Member
  • Bruno Zumbo, Member


Donations to the fund may be made online here by selecting the Alicia Cascallar Memorial Fund