Bradley Hanson Award for Contributions to Educational Measurement

The Bradley Hanson Award has been established to honor Bradley Hanson's contributions to the field of educational measurement and to further advance the goals embodied in his work. Applicants must describe a recently completed research project or propose a new research project that promises to make a substantive contribution to the field of educational measurement or the development, instruction or mentoring of new professionals in the field. A typical time frame for the expected completion of a proposed project is one to two years. Please see the list of previous recipients and their projects for more information. The recipient will be awarded $1,000 and a commemorative plaque from NCME, which will be presented to the recipient at the NCME Annual Meeting. For additional information on Bradley Hanson and his body of work, please go to the Bradley Hanson Website that is maintained in his memory. You may also e-mail or phone the committee chair with any questions or comments you may have!

Past Recipients

  • 2005 Seonghoon Kim; Gary Skaggs
  • 2006 Won-Chan Lee
  • 2007 Jianbin Fu
  • 2008 no recipient
  • 2009 Ying Cheng
  • 2010 J. Patrick Meyer
  • 2011 Werner Wothke
  • 2012 Matthias von Davier
  • 2013 Lihua Yao
  • 2014 Hong Jiao
  • 2015 Chaitanya Ramineni, Brent Bridgeman & Paul Deane
  • 2016 Sun-Joo Cho
  • 2017 Wenchao Ma & Jimmy de a Torre
  • 2018 Dr. Sandip Sinharay 
  • 2019 Hongwen Guo, Mo Zhang, Paul Deane, & Randy Bennett
  • 2020 Matthew Johnson and Sandip Sinharay
  • 2021 Steven Culpepper & James Balamuta
  • 2022 David Magis, Duanli Yan & Alina von Davier

Committee Members

This committee is responsible for all steps associated with the selection and recognition of the recipient of the Bradley Hanson Award for Contributions to Educational Measurement.

  • Scott Hanson, Permanent Member
  • Won-Chan Lee, Chair
  • Duanli Yan, Member
  • Laine Bradshaw, Member
  • Yong He, Member
  • Stella Kim, Member
  • Mahnaz Charania, Member
  • Tong Wu, Student Member


Donations to the Bradley A. Hanson Memorial Fund may be made using the online form below or may be made payable to the Arizona Community Foundation.

Arizona Community Foundation
Bradley A. Hanson Memorial Fund
2201 E. Camelback Road, Suite 405B
Phoenix, Arizona 85016